On the Healer’s Path…

On Saturday, August 23, the Mrs. and I had a chance to attend “Introduction to Soul Healing” at the Waipahu Civic Center where we learned of the teachings and works of Dr. Zhi Gang Sha. For the past several years now I’ve been slowly walking down the Healers path. It is something I have had a strong interest in, my motivation being of course the illnesses that my wife faces and my parents’ impending healthcare needs as they age. As a martial artist many practitioners also cross-train as healers. In my studies into the Hawaiian Martial Art of Lua it is a known fact that Lua practitioners also learned the healing arts for treatment of injuries both in practice and in battle. My lua studies included very basic concepts of lomilomi and la’au lapa’au.

Over the years I have researched Traditional Chinese Medicine (I bought several books that are part of the curriculum of a local TCM school). One of my eventual goals in life, after retiring from the State is to in fact spend out my golden years as a healer/teacher. My dream would be to be both a licensed Western doctor as well as a traditional healer incorporating Western/Chinese/Hawaiian healing modalities. Over the past few years I’ve had peaked interest in studying massage as well as TCM where there are ample schools. I’ve had opportunities to study Hawaiian healing modalities. Alas, I’ve put those on the back burner to focus on my main career path but my interest in still there and slowly but surely I’m being exposed to the Healer’s craft in small bits.

Back earlier this year the wife and I had a chance to meet Dr. Michael Mirdad who presented a few times at our Church. He taught us some very fascinating stuff and is a respected healer in his own right who’s studied Western/Eastern and Indigenous healing traditions.

What I really liked about Dr. Sha whom we learned about is that he is both a licensed Medical doctor as well as a TCM which for me is something I aspire to one day.

The workshop itself was cool. We watched a two hour DVD on the works on Dr. Sha and his teacher, Dr. Guo. He broke for lunch and then the facilitators (students of Dr. Sha) took us through some healing exercises where they explained his theory’s on healing, in particular the 4-Model Healing of Body, Soul, Mind and Sound. We went through an exercise that took us through the “Seven Soul Centers (Chakras)” and “FIve Elements.” The exercises incorporated Body (posture, similar to Chi Kung), Mind (Color Visualization), Sound (Mantras) and Soul (Prayer/Unconditional Love).

Through the day I was able to learn and expand on my knowledge of Chakra theory, the 5-Elements Theory, wellness and illness. I really enjoyed learning more about the Chinese perspective of healing as well as Dr. Sha’s take on wellness of the soul. Hawaiians believed in wellness of the spirit/soul as well. You really do need to start there as illness there simply filters down and manifests as illness within the body or mind. Health is really a manifestation of the whole being which is inclusive of mind, body and spirit and it really is our spirit which is the foundation upon which we are all built upon.

And so, for now, my walk down the healer’s path is at a stall. I’ll have an opportunity to meet Dr. Sha in a few weeks as he’ll be doing a live workshop in a few weeks which hopefully my schedule permits. If not, I can always interact with him virtually…

If you yourself are interested in the Dr. Sha and Soul Healing workshop experience yourself the workshop will be repeated a few more times.  It is ABSOLUTELY FREE, lunch included and you get a free copy of Dr. Sha’s book.  It’s a very good deal.  Here are workshop times and contact information:

  • Friday, September 12, 2008, 9am – 3pm
  • Saturday, September 13, 2008, 10am – 4pm
  • Sunday, September 13, 2008, 10am – 4pm
  • Friday, October 10, 2008, 9am – 3pm
  • Friday, October 17, 2008, 9am – 3pm
  • Sunday, October 19, 2008, 10am – 4pm
  • Saturday, October 25, 2008, 10am – 4pm

To register call Terry at (808) 676-1192 ext 201

Sessions are conducted at the Waipahu Civic Center
94-275 Mokuola Street, Rm 102
Waipahu, HI 96797

Stay well…

Leave a Reply

