Blessed

For my regular readers who’ve followed me over the years you’ll know I do an annual, “What I’m Thankful” post each and every year and typically I always begin by saying just how crazy it is that another year has come by and gone so quickly and this year is no exception! It literally feels like I just composed last year’s Thanksgiving post yesterday (you’ll need to refer to my MySpace blog to see last year’s post).

With another year come and gone so quickly I cannot begin to recount the countless blessings I’ve received this year (which is great as 2K7 pretty much sucked for me) but I’ll do my best to recount all the things I’m grateful for and am truly blessed to have in my life at this time, the year of our Lord, 2K8. Your soundtrack for this year’s Thanksgiving post is “Blessed” by Rachael Lampa

My Family

First and foremost, I want to give thanks for the health of my family, the people who mean the most to me (but who I am still guilty of neglecting the most). I am very, very, very, very thankful that my parents and my childhood doggies have all survived yet another year on the planet to a ripe old age. We had a bit of a scare with my mom back in April for those of you who may remember but here we are, about to sit down to the Thanksgiving dnner table together still here, still one πŸ™‚

I’m thankful for my brother and sister-in-law who finally received their most heartfelt wish this year – starting a family. I have two awesome nephews to help raise over the next 20 some odd years and I’m sure that’ll be a great experience for all of us.

I’m thankful for my wife and Rocky and Sasha who make all the struggles day in and day out worth it. Having their unconditional love and support day in and day out is the stuff dreams are made of.

My New Peeps

2K8 will go down for me as the year the world opened its doors to me. I can’t begin to discuss all the awesome people I got a chance to meet and reconnect with this year.

Probably the biggest life changer for me this year was delving deep into the local tech community via Twitter, Bytemarks and Manoa Geeks. Getting to meet and know all the awesome geeks in our local community has been probably the most defining of experiences for me this year as prior to getting hooked in I must confess I felt very much alone and in my own bubble with very little support. To all my awesome Tweeps (@hawaii @jeffmcneill @xynetha @maryhattori @dlassner @neenz @bytemarks @ikitajima @lkitajima @JPhillipson @angelakeen @lauriecicotello @spldrttngrl @diecasthawaii @keoladonaghy @lavasusan @Kalei @kanahina and everyone else I may have missed) thank you for making my day each and every day.

The second biggest life changer for me this year was immersing myself into and joining the awesome local Improv community. I feel so blessed and privileged to have met and played along side the most talented group of people I know and to be able to live out a dream of mine. Compounding the fact that I got to do so alongside people from my past whose own lifes paths lead them to Improv is just one of those freakishly karmic things I can’t even begin to describe how cool it is. Much love and props go out to Shannon and Kim for founding our LTC ‘ohana and giving us all a home. Lots of love and props to R. and Sharon for their friendship and hooking me into the community. Big ups to Fern, Jen, John and Kehau for rockin’ it each night at practice. Big hugs and love to B.K., Brenda and Carla — we miss you guys! Much love and respect to the larger LTC, FISW, Improv Hawai’i ‘ohana (James, Steph, Makana, Jim, Chris, Shawn, Stu, Scott, Larissa, and everyone else). Exploring my creative sides definitely helped me grow as a person and has definitely helped balance me out and let’s face it, we all enjoy a good laugh and good company πŸ™‚

Career Achievements

2K8 for me will go down as the year that I “arrived” or came into my own and took the first step toward fulfilling my potential and destiny. To me, it is my first step toward greatness. I co-staged a successful and well-received WILD event and fulfilled my requirements as a WoLC to the nines. I successfully applied for and earned admission into the prestigious President’s Emerging Leaders Program. I successfully wrote and was awarded my first major grant. I successfully restored and revitalized our dormant Staff Senate and I was one vote away from seizing the Chairship of our campus’ most powerful governance body (I voted against myself). Probably a crowning achievement to this year is the unique opportunity I’ve had in being Apprenticed to a person considered to be a God of sorts in our field through PELP which is just a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Most importantly though for me, beyond all the successful projects and achievements, it comes back to the people I work with. I’ve had the opportunity to work with the best group of students and the best group of professionals on the planet who really help to make my job easy. Much love to all my great co-workers and soldiers on the front lines of higher education: Keala, Leon, Ka’iu, Mel, Mary, Cheryll, Eric, Jim, Hal, Zane, Ka’iulani, Kyle, Elton, Philip, Emily, Silvan, Grace, etc. Big ups to my staff who do the awesome work that makes everything work so smoothly day in and day out: Nam, Xi, Lin, Rod, Alex, Tyler, Amanda, Ahloy, John, Ron, Joey, Erin, and Theresa. It’s my honor and privilege to ride into battle with you daily and fight the good fight.

Academic Achievements
2K8 saw me step back into the classroom as a student after a year off following my MBA adventures. I successfully enrolled into the Masters of Educational Technology program and have had the distinct pleasure of meeting more cool peeps. The ETEC ‘Ohana is one I’ve followed for several years now and I can’t begin to express how great it is to finally be an official “card carrying member” of the ETEC ‘Ohana. Big ups to the 2K8 cohort: Michael, Rashmi, Evelyn, Nicki, Natalie, Rayna, Lynda, Hong, Michelle, Christine, Andrew, and Masa as well as all the awesome advanced students I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and working with.
Personal Achievements
2K8 was a year of accomplishment in my personal realm as well as professional. After 3 years of dedicated work I finally earned my Kung Fu completion certificate (equivalent of a black belt) in Hung Gar and Choy Li Fut kung fu.

I had the unique opportunity to have a small private dinner with a United States Congressman (Neil Abercrombie) on two occasions due to my relationships off of Twitter πŸ™‚

I had the unique opportunity to be a featured guest on a radio show (Bytemarks Cafe) in my area of specialty!

I completed training as an Improvisational actor/comic.

I traveled to Vegas and San Diego Comic Con with my friend and two oldest/longest friends on the planet.

I’ve taken in more arts and culture events and enjoyed Honolulu’s Nightlife more than any other point in my life prior to now.

My Old Peeps

Through the awesome power of the Internet and Social Networking, 2K8’s been a year of reconnection for me as well as I’ve had a chance to reconnect with tons of old friends from high school and college I otherwise wouldn’t have. Over the past year I’ve enjoyed re-establishing and maintaining my connections with all the awesome folks of KSBE, School of Comm and Shidler College of Business. In particular I do want to send out love and a ton of props to Pam, Shane, Mel P, Kanno, Lyell, Jen H., Ola, Tino, Randy, Erica, Monica, Jen B for keeping in touch. You guys rock :

Needless to say, I have a ton to be thankful for.

On this day, Thanksgiving 2008 (11/27/08) I can say that I am truly blessed. I have my family, my health, a successful career and the most awesome group of friends, colleagues and acquaintances anyone could ever ask for. For that, I am truly thankful to the Lord for.

I Am Blessed…

One response to “Blessed

  1. You are as much a blessing us as we are to you! Dankulu na Si Yu’us Ma’ase (a big thank you).

Leave a Reply

