2013: My Toughest Battle Ever

“You are your own worst enemy. If you can learn to stop expecting impossible perfection, in yourself and others, you may find happiness that has always eluded you.” — Lisa Kleypas #quote

Reflecting back on the year that was 2013 I can hands down say it was dually both the worst and the best year I ever had.

On one side it was one of the worst years ever. Between being hospitalized, being in a car accident, and having challenges in my career and personal life it was hands-down one of my worst years ever.

But in some ways it was also my best year ever. They say that what does not BREAK you makes you STRONGER. In the past month after passing through my Trial By Fire of the previous 11 months I can honestly say I survived the experience and came through it more powerful than ever. Gone are the chains that have held me back from being all that I ever could be. I stand here on the last day of 2013 looking back on the years of my life and I fully understand who it is I am, what I have accomplished, what has held me back and most importantly, what I am here to do and how I will do it.

I approach my life as a warrior. Always have, always will. Warriors go through life in a constant battle and I viewed 2013 as one my toughest battles ever and my toughest opponent as it literally kept knocking me down and did it’s best to keep me down.

I realized the person I was fighting was myself. And so I stopped fighting. Instead of conquering and defeating my opponent I simply looked at myself and said, “good fight kid.” I gave myself a hug and together we turned to face the oncoming 2014, our next opponent, merged into one and ventured off to meet the new challenger head on.

“Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.”

Leave a Reply

